What's the best way to prepare a fibreglass car?

clivesroadster

Is it better to bake the car first to allow any air bubbles to rise, then sand the tops off and fill? If so fill with what?, resin and surface tissue? any holes may be quite small? P40 fibreglass paste? Can you use a heat gun to expose air pockets? OR is none of the above needed if the car is not baked in an oven when painted? Does it need to be baked to achieve a professional finish? Also I hear filler sinks after a while, is that correct? if so what can be done about this problem.

Sorry for all the questions guys but as you can tell I am a newbie to paint.

TAZ

Administrator
Staff member
If the fiberglass is quality fiberglass, there really shouldn't be any bubbles.
It should have a nice smooth thick gelcoat. If you do have a few, break them open, sand the area and then fill them.
Then 180 grit the complete surface and prime with a good epoxy primer.

No need to bake to achieve a professional finish. This is up to the actual sprayer to apply a nice finish!

TAZ

Administrator
Staff member
If the fiberglass is quality fiberglass, there really shouldn't be any bubbles.
It should have a nice smooth thick gelcoat. If you do have a few, break them open, sand the area and then fill them.
Then 180 grit the complete surface and prime with a good epoxy primer.

No need to bake to achieve a professional finish. This is up to the actual sprayer to apply a nice finish!

clivesroadster

Thank you for the reply Taz. There are no bubbles present when you look at the gel coat, BUT I hear on a hot day IF there are any bubbles under the gel coat these may be seen as the air expands under the paint!? To this end should I heat in some way the gel coat (with a paint stripper gun or oven bake) to force them to the surface and sand and fill before paint?

Also when I sand down filler and get very small holes left do I need to use putty or will a spray filler/primer do the trick?

TAZ

Administrator
Staff member