What airbrush for fine detail?

A

amelia clark

I have been in T shirt airbrushing. Started with a Paasche VL then went to Vega 2000. I love it, BUT it just don't do good detail on hard surfaces. I started painting batting helmets and will be swamp come Spring. I will be graduating, SLOWLY, into car murals etc and want an affordable airbrush that will do detail on hard surfaces. I am using Createx and have tried some Metal Craft. But just not happy with results. I have seen work with some asume detail. Somebody is doing something right.
So!!!!!! Is it my airbrush or my paint that I need to replace for hard surface? I have played with the PSI and just not happy.
agree.gif

Stretch

Hello Amelia-

I can't answer your question exactly but I can suggest lowering the air pressure for more detail. I haven't had the best luck getting the Createx paints to thin down smoothly. I usually get clogs. With automotive urethanes I've had much better luck and can get much more detail. I'm using an Iwata HP-C.

What sort of sealer are you using to seal the paint on the helmets. I had a potential client that wanted a helmet painted but I wasn't sure if there was something more durable than automotive urethanes.

Thanks and good luck-Stretch

A

amelia clark