paint curiosity

G

Garry

This may sound strange because I'm no painter by trade but have attacked the project of flaming my bike to a certain degree of success. First of all, I have a nice basecoat, used PPG DBC black, got real comfortable with 3M blue fine-line tape, 1/8" for the flame layout. My "question" is, due to the small amount of paint used to shoot the flames or any other graphics for that matter..weighed against the price of the paint and the fact that distributors in my area will only sell most colors in quarts,I was curious if it would be feasible to use any of the "touch-up" paints on the market or maybe some of the "hobby-paints" such as Tamiya..they have some really nice colors out..also at a fraction of the cost I would spend on a quart, of which I would only use a few ounces. I beleive most of these paints are acrylic-enamels and the PPG base-coat I am using is an Acrylic-Urethane which I wonder would be a paint combatibility problem. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanx
confused.gif

T

TAZ

Good idea, but one of the biggest problems I see (as you also mentioned) is the compatibility problem. You basically have a "true" basecoat, then you are applying non-catalyzed acrylic enamel over the basecoat. I then assume you are going to spray a catalyzed clear coat over the basecoat and the enamel flames. Eventually the non-catalyzed enamel will either, cause the clear to crack, wrinkle, or delaminate.

With some clears, you may even have a problem right off the bat when you try spraying over the non-catalyzed enamel. Doing this may cause the enamel to lift, or wrinkle, thus really creating a mess.

Touch up paints are basically made to be applied as "single-stage" paints, made to be air-dried. Even if you were to let your touch up paint air dry long enough, the clear coat could "loosen" it up, giving you problems.