Need some help with a Harness Racing helmet paint & pinstripe project

freddyguy1

Hi everyone,

I need a little bit of help. I'm relatively new to the world of working with airbrushes, pinstripes, etc., etc., and, I have a couple of questions concerning a project which I am working on.

The project is the repainting and putting graphics on a Harness Racing helmet, for a buddy of mine.

A little about what I've done so far:

I started out with a helmet which had not previously been custom painted (just the plain white background as purchased initially). After ruffing up the surface with sand paper, I then purchased a spray can of blue metallic paint, mixed by a local automotive paint dealer, and sprayed the helmet with that. I then started to airbrush on some simple graphics using acrylic paints and then used some pinstripes in different areas on the helmet.

I am getting close to the point where I want to finish the project by clear coating the helmet.
My questions are:

1) It seems to me that I read somewhere that pinstripes used in this manner need have a "hardener" applied over them before the clear coat is applies. Is this a fact? If so, what kind of Hardener would you recommend, and, will it have any adverse affect on the painted surfaces?

2) My other question is, as I've used acrylic paints and pinstripes (which may or may not have a coating of hardener if required), what kind of clear coat should I use? Also, should the helmet be sanded with a fine grit sandpaper prior to clear coating?

Thanks in advance for any assistance that you can offer.

JT Airbrush