gun help

A

akapparos

I am new to painting and I thought I would do some research before I started painting my bike. I've read all the info on this forum and it is very helpful and totally confusing
wink.gif
. There seem to be as many different opinions as there are questions. I hope someone can help me clear a few things up. 1. compressors- the cfm requirements of the hvlp guns I have looked at seem to far exceed the capabilities of most compressors I have seen. Am I missing something? or are those ratings just guidelines. I have a 5hp 20gal compressor. Should I forget about HVLP and get a standard gravity feed gun or get the HVLP and upgrade the compressor? Money is definately a factor. I am not planning on making painting a business or anything, I just want to do my own custom job on my bike. 2. primer- I have decals under the clear on my vulcan. Is it feasible to block sand the ridge in the clear down without breaking through or should I strip the whole thing and prime it? If I strip it, would feathering be easier or should I sand blast the whole thing? If I strip it, with a sand blaster is an etching primer necessary or is there a primer/sealer that I can apply and save a step or two. I am planning on using PPG bc/cc. 3. Filler- I have some scratches on the front fender caused by a windy day and a door
frown.gif
. The fender is plastic. I was wondering what the best product to smooth it out would be ? The scratches are about what you would expect if you ran a wood rasp across the fender. I would like to say thanks in advance for any advice and would like to let y'all know that I have already benefitted greatly from this site.

T

TAZ

akapparos,
You should have absolutely no problem running a HVLP gun on most compressors. I would say the average CFM for most 5 HP compressors is about 8-9. I have a 6 HP that puts out 14.5 CFM. I'm sure I can run a "siphon" feed gun along with a DA sander at the same time.