What do I need.

P

pyrofighting

I am new to painting. I just bought a SATA Digital HVLP gun. I want to start painting. I am going to be paiting at home in the garage mostly. What else do I need; sand paper, tape, etc. Please help, I just need some stuff to get started. What brands are best also,

T

TAZ

Well, at least you have a good start by buying a good gun
grin.gif

I would suggest just checking out some of the painting books that are available at your local bookstore or online at Amazon or as another user suggested Barnes & Noble.

You can start the actual spraying process by possibly spraying some fenders or other body parts that some of your local dealerships throw out. I know at our dealership, we throw out quite a few decent panels that would definitely serve this purpose. A great way to learn how to begin to paint.

As far as the best brands, I strongly suggest 3M products. They are very consistent with their products and are of higher quality.

As far as paint goes, I am currently using PPG Global, but I have a strong liking for Glasurit. Both have great warranties and are their bc/cc systems are good to work with.
Good luck on your painting!

P

pyrofighting

Thanks for those suggestions. But I am looking for accessories that I need to buy. What grits of sand paper and how much to get started. What sanders, buffers, orbital or two speed. Hand sanders, block sanders, etc. What things do I need in my shop. Thanks again.

T

tooter