Urekem Paint vs. House of Kolor Aerosol

thackeral444

I am getting ready to embark upon my first motorcycle paint job. I have been building a bobber for the past two years and will be ready to paint in a few months. The project has cost way more than I anticipated and I am going to have to do a relatively inexpensive paint. This will not be a show bike-just a personal ride. It need not to look like a show bike but I do want it to stand out and be very impressive. I have about a $300 budget for a small tank, small rear fender, oil tank, and battery box. I want a retro look with Root Beer, Gold, Black, and Metal Flakes. I have looked around for the best options within this budget and have narrowed it down to Urekem urethane from http://www.thecoatingstore.com/ and House of Kolor Aerosols with Spraymax Clear from http://www.coastairbrush.com/categories.asp?cat=11 Urekem paint will of course require an HVLP gun, compressor, water trap etc. (of which I will have to buy all but the compressor) and will only be able to spend about $75 on guns, new hose, and regulator/water trap, plus I have never used a spray gun before so there will be a learning curve. The HOK aerosols and Spraymax are good to go and should be much easier over all. The Urekem paint is extremely inexpensive and the HOK aerosols will actually end up costing more. My first instinct is that spraygun will always beat aerosol, but the Urekem is so inexpensive it makes me wonder whether the HOK will be the better choice.

Does anyone have experience with Urekem or the HOK aerosols and Spraymax 2k clear? Does anyone have an opinion as to which would be best?

THANKS!

JT Airbrush