Steps for a newbie

hcomj

I was wondering if someone can just list the steps from a bare metal tank to a flamed and cleared finished paint job. I dont need the details I need the steps and then I will research each step. I know it maybe alot to ask but I need to know if I had a bare metal tank what processes to go through. Like step 1. seal tank. step to prime tank. etc. and also what tip sizes you use when you spray each step. I would really appreciate this. I am in Iraq right now and when I get home in Dec. Im going all out on my Springer. Im trying to learn and get all the parts and pieces put together before I get home. If I mess it up I will just start over so If someone could just list a complete set of steps that would be really cool. Thanks. Jason

ruggs

Jason,
First let me introduce myself. My name is Ron, I have 40 years experience in the autobody and paint business and an ASE Master tech. This also includes bikes and just about anything that is covered in paint so, I feel like I may be able to steer you in the right direction. I don't normally post anything but, since their probably throwing lead at you then I'll help out.
This is going to take some time because everyone needs to know what kind of prior experience you have and what kind of tools do we have to work with. Tell us a little more about your past and we or I will go from there...Ron

hcomj