spray booth

RandR

i have a old 12 x 14 garage connected on to my 6 bay mechanics shop off to the side but i have dust everywhere in it!!!! concrete floors .. i am wanting to make a spray booth.. i have plastic on all sides.. my question is do you think i need to plastic the roof..and maybe even the floor or maybe a good wet down before i paint, for the floor..and what is the best way to move the air in there also .. i have read some on here about positive pressure.. i have a couple fans but small 18 in shop fans... any info would help..

just starting to paint i have been a mechanic for years and a guy asked me to paint his fenders i painted them out in the shop an turned out perfect if you dont mind all the dust in it :crap: blended it in good an all.. so i need to fix me a good but cheap paint booth... btw if this works well i have a couple mores cars to paint..

tomsteve

pics would help. gotta get it as dust free as possible before anything, which for me would be having a fan or fans at one end and an open window at the other with some furnace filters over them, then break out a leaf blower and an air hose and go at it. blast it good, walk away for 20-30 minutes, come back and do it again( and wear a mask!). keep doin it til there aintmuch left, then wash the place down, preferrably with a pressure washer.
but, pics would really help to give ya better suggestions.

tomsteve

welp, heres what i suggest: take all the plastic down and get it as dust free as possible. compressed air and a leaf blower work great. then a pressure washer and blast every nook and cranny. get some fans goin and dry it out and air it out. then get a 20 by 100' roll of clear/ white plastic. start on the ceiling and close that off, then do the walls. get it stretched out nice because once ya add intake and exhaust air, its gonnna go crazy iffen it isnt stretched out good and secured good. after it's all up, tape off the seams. use good quality tape.