Realistic learning curve?

B

bigwaylon

I'm new here, and I am new to painting. I plan to use the search feature for as much as I can, as not to agitate anyone with redundant questions, but I do want to ask what is a realistic time period for a newby to learn painting well enough to do a respectable paint job? I understand there are many factors, but lets say they are a moderate to fast learner, stickler for detail, and use the info in this site to guide them, and I am talking about just being able to spray well, not able to do any intricate detail, or custom tricks.

Any input will be appreciated!

bigwaylon

rex

It's really hard to say considering you're getting no hands on next to someone and there are confusing posts because everyone does it different.The biggest thing is pulling the trigger,which only comes with practice and won't be hard to learn if you're mechanically inclined.Learning the paint itself can be a lengthy process too but you can grab a bunch of basics out of old posts,then just read the directions (I know,we're men and only do that after a screwup).It could happen in a few months or a few years.If you can play with some of the cheaper paints often it'll get you started,just don't get irate over a screwup because you'll have them.And by all means,remember clean-your hands and not being stingy with grease and wax remover on the parts.Welcome aboard too /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/bigokay.gif

Bornhard

Welcome to the World of custom painting! Rex is pretty much accurate with what he said & I just wanted to add a few things.