Please I need advice

juliet91403

Hello my name is Julie, I'll preface this by saying that I am not very knowledgeable about car paint. But that's why I am here, hoping to get some advice...here's my problem:
I had someone work on my car's fender the other day (I have a 2004 white Acura RSX) where there was chipped paint and a dent. When I saw the finished job I was uneasy. He pulled the dent out via suction, and that was fine. But he sprayed Rustoleum over quite a large area and it looks terrible.
I kept asking him, why is my paint matte and no longer glossy like the rest of the car. He just brushed it off (figuratively) and said it was the shadows or it's dust and it will wipe off.
I am no expert but it looks like s***. I cleaned the area hoping it would look better but to no avail. I just want to undo what he did to my car. I love my car, I take very good care of it and I am freaking out a little inside.
Any suggestions on how to remove it without damaging the original paint?
Thanks,
Julie

TAZ

Administrator
Staff member
Julie,

Sorry to hear about your experience.
I've seen this before where they 'sell' the job but don't know what they are doing.
I'm sure you were trying to get a 'cheap' job (less expensive). You get what you pay for definitely also applies to auto body and painting.
Hopefully you didn't pay cash, but I have a feeling you did. This is normally how these type people work. They simply put ads on CL and try to scam people.
Or, I've seen a job where they go around parking lots trying to drum up business.
You may want to take pics of the work and post them on CL under Automotive Services so no-one else gets scammed.

My suggestion to you is find a local auto body shop that will take care of this for you.
All that spray can will need to be removed. Which is fairly easy. Most of the time lacquer thinner will take the spray can off without damaging your original paint.