Newbie question about curing time and waxing

KrisMas

Hey everbody. A newbie here from Malaysia and have absolutely no idea on paintwork but into detailing for a couple of years now. Not professionally but just a weekend enthusiast.

Just a question on waxing new paint. Is the general idea of letting a new paintwork to 'out-gas' or cure for a month or two before it is safe to seal it with wax is true? If so, then how would you know (a simple test would do) that the paint had cured and ready for a layer of wax?

Thanks in advance.

flamepain

i tell my customers not to wax or wash for about a month just to cover my butt.however i've put wax on a day later and have never had a problem.i dont want people rubbing my fresh paint until it's good and hard.cyas

hoss

clearcoat cures from the outside in, so if you put a non-breathable coat of wax on it then it can't fully cure.

if it's winter when i paint and the bike is setting in the cold i tell them to wait till summer to wax. just clean it w/ soap water and shammie it off.

usually in weather above 70 degrees i'll have them wait a month or two before waxing.

everyone has their own thing, i've never heard of an actual right up on the subject. but the more layers of clear the longer i'd wait.

KrisMas

Meaning to say, there aren't really any simple way to tell whether the paint's fully cured?

Guess it'll be best to take the safest route which is to wait....

Thanks a lot guys.

flamepain

waxing early