need help beginner

foxy300

ok i am really new to this and i have many books and vidios on order but i like to get info from people who do this stuff, i am going to paint my 1987 300zx plus do some air brushing on it, i will practice for awhile before i try it on my car, i have talked to some people who are not experts and get all kinds of answers, what i want to know is when to air brush i will be using a b/c c/c system do i air brush after the base coating is done or after i clear coat, if i do it before i clear which makes sense to me how long can i wait to clear coat i figure the air brush work will take awhile to complete, thanks for all the info this is a great site

hoss

some people like to put down an intercoat clear after the base coat is layed down. this has a protection factor if you screw up your airbrush work. w/ this you can sand off mistakes w/o going down to your base coat. i usually just shoot right over my base color. you can clear between 15 min and 24 hrs after you spray it.

martin3294

In your case it would be advisable to put an intercoat of clear on before you do your airbrush work, I do this nearly always. Also depends on the base coat you are airbrushing onto, if it is a pearl base you would destroy the base coat by scratching the metalic pearls, also if a lot of artwork is involved you don't want to be taping directly over the pearl anyway. Always leaves marks and spoils the finish. By putting down an intercoat of clear you are safegaurding yourself. I have been airbrushing over 15 years and have yet to see anyones tape outs that havn't resulted in minor bleed throughs. Bleed throughs are not a problem with an intercoat of clear but are a serious issue without an intercoat. So in short always protect your work with an intercoat wherever you can.

martin3294