mixing pearls

D

drunken_munkee

does anybody know if mixing say a black pearl and a white pearl would be a good idea. im trying to create a dark dark gray for a ghost flame job. or does anybody know a paint that would do the job straight up. im kinda new at this so any ideas would be greatly appreciated. thanks love the sight by the way

rex

Yea you can get grey from that but tint the black with the white.If you have plain ol' black and white make your grey a touch dark and then add the pearl,it doesn't take alot of it.If you need to adjust it add a little white or black.If it's a homemade deal,I start with a little more than I need of the initial color.By the time I get done I have enough to do the job again in case I need to touch it up or redo it later from an accident.Document as much as possible about mix ratios,# of coats,temp,etc.The best thing to do is go with an actual factory paint,and if you tint it make extra again.If you look through the American,Aisian and European color charts,you'd be amazed at how many colors are close to what you want.Anyone into yellow with a green cast flop needs to see the '01 Lamborgini pearl.The chip in the book does it no justice at all.It's not my gig but it's tits (can I say that?).

D

drunken_munkee

thanks for the info, i plan to be using a black basecoat. so if i just lightly spray a white pearl will it give me a grey ghost look? (like i said im new at this, forgive me if my questions are a little dumb). but thanks again.

rex

I'm not sure what you'd get that way,I never tried it.I was thinking you had a can of back pearl and one of white pearl.Adding some of the white to the black will give you the dark grey,but spraying white pearl over black should do the same with a different look.Make a test panel though(look in the tips forum),I'm wondering if there will be a drastic difference in coats-you go one too many and you're too light.Test panel will tell you fast what you want.

M

Mac_Muz