machine polishing for the first time.

dixiethedog

Hi all,ive just bought myself a variable speed rotary polisher,with an assortment of mops. Im going to try on an old panels (actually my daily driver 1998 vw caddy pickup (rabbit??). Its standard (horrible)navy blue,faded to hell,so......
The plan;rub down panels with 1500 wet and dry,wet of course,then do it again with 2500.
Use a cutting compound (G3),over all panels,polish off,and hopefully restore some shine? Polish with a nice wax.
I realise that theres alot more to it than ive typed,so any suggestions gratefully received. This is my first attempt,if i mess up,respray time!!:haha:

Kong

This is an old post so my reply is really more to add general information for others who don't have a lot of experience buffing.

Your sanding plan is pretty good. You can start with 1000p grit or a little higher or lower if you like; if there are runs or wave (large sags) that need to be fixed I like to begin with a quick knock down with 800p myself, but that's just to expedite the process. Follow the 100 grit with 1500p and then even finer if you like; once again on a personal note I stop with 1500 about as often as I go on to use 2000p.

Once the sanding is done its time to buff. Buffing compounds come in distinct and distinguished grits, much like sand paper, and they have the ability to take out scratches that correspond to the scratch depth of various grits of paper. I use 3M Perfect It myself and it is perfectly capable of taking out scratches at the 1200p level. That leaves a very nice finish but it will have swirl marks in it so I then move on to McGuire's (sp?) Swirl Remover, which gives me my completed finish. I never wax any job and I tell my customers not to wax the bike for at least 6 months, if ever.