Low down on airbrushes

F

Flamin' A-Hole

Hey,
I'm a new painter (aspiring). I am in the market for a new airbrush. My goal is to paint motorcycles. My questions is many fold. What type of airbrush is the best for my application(flames, tribal designs, etc.) Is a gravity fed better than a botom fed? Should I purchase a double action? Is side fed better than top fed? How big a resevior should I need? What type and length of hose should I choose? I am leaning toward the Iwata Eclipse or Revolution presently, however I am basing my decision solely on my own research. I would like to hear from you pro's who use them everyday! Any input would be greatly appreciated. And thanks for all the good advice from everyone. I'm not sure where or how long it would take me to get this information on my own. Probably a lifetime!

M

Mitchb71

You are on the right track by far. Double action all the way... only thing to use. Now the only trouble you really concerned about is the gravity or siphon fed. Depends on what you are actually doing. If you are only using very small amounts of color. Gravity feed is fine. If you use single colors for longer amounts of time or over larger areas, then go for the siphon feed. Really no advantage other than one holds more than the other. As far as top or side mount thats just preference. I own an iwata eclipse bcs with siphon feed. Awesome gun. Feel free to ask if you have any other questions.

F

Flamin' A-Hole

Thanks Mitch for taking the time to reply. You helped me narrow my decision even more!

N

Nate Hansen