First-time poster with a few questions.

Seawolf

Just thought I would jump in to say hi and ask a few questions.
I've been a professional autobody repair technician and painter for the past 29 years. Currently we only do collision repair but I'm thinking it might be time to diversify and branch out into custom painting. The paint system
that I use exclusively is PPG and I have no experience with House of Kolor products.
That being said I have a few questions;
1. Can I use PPG's DP-LF sealers and DBC basecoat colors and then put HOK Kandies on top of that? ( I have plenty of PPG colors in stock, might as well use them if I can unless there's just no comparison between HOK and
PPG colors.)
2. Can I use PPG's DCU 2042 clear over HOK Kandies?
3. Can PPG's DT line of reducers be used in HOK's colors and Kandies?
My local paint supplier says yes to those questions EXCEPT for using the DT reducers in HOK products.
When I look at the HOK web site it says this, "Do not mix other companies products with House of Kolor's products, as many have proven to be incompatible. This includes other companies' primers, sealers, reducers and
clears."
I really doubt my local guys have first-hand experience actually using HOK products so if anyone here can give me a definite yes or no to these questions it would be appreciated.
Also, which is the best way to buy the Kandies, by the quart or concentrated? There may not be any difference but again my paint supply guy was pushing for the quart cans.
Thanks for any help you can give.
Great site Scott, thanks for providing it.

Last edited:

WildDuke

Hi Seawolf,

I am not an expert, however I believe Kandies can be painted over any brand as long as you you use the same brand base. Therefore if I were you, I would buy the Kandy concentrates from HOK and then mix it with PPG clear base coat and then use PPG reducers to the consistency that you require. This will also allow you to use PPG clearcoat without compatibility issues.