Does my airbrush ****, or is it just me

Rifter

I have a Pasche type H, my old mom bought me because I said I would like to have one. I have tried it a couple times but not enough to be any good. Well today I decided to drop shadow some flames---- Hummmm not so good, but I'm going to keep this paint job as an example of Me needing more practice. I want to start doing more with an airbrush but the trouble I had using this one means maybe I need a better one, so since I'm NOT a pro and will only be using it for projects now and then what brush should I get? Any help would be appreciated.

hoss

paasche is an ok airbrush. I'm not sure what the type H is, but if it's double action (when you push-out comes the air. when you pull back-out comes the paint. the more paint you want the more you pull back.)

if it's a double action it should work for drop shadowing. practice w/ it and upgrade when you feel that that brush is holding your abilities back. as a newbie myself i though my brush was holding me back in the beginnings, but found out later that i was holding it's abilities back ;). keep practicing. and get an iwata the next time around.

martin3294

Weve all been there thinking our air brush is naff and a better airbrush will get us better results. The truth of the matter is that the better the quality of the airbrush is the better it will perform. It will only give better results when the airbrush is mastered and that takes a fair few years. As you get better with the airbrush the reality kicks in that it is the user rather than the brush. Your airbrush although not the best of brushes to use should still yield decent results if used properly. Practice, practice and more practice is the only way to go to master an airbrush. I have been airbrushing for 15 years and still learn different tricks even now. Don't expect instant results and don't get disheartened, a better brush can help your technique by a little but technique can be learned on even the worst airbrush.