Color Sanding ?

fordor

Once I clear the part I'm painting and it has dried the proper amount of time I start colorsanding. I start out with 1000 grit then go to 1500. Here's the Question. How do I know the differnace in what I sanded at 1000 and 1500? I know that after sanding with 1000 I'll have a grey haze over the part, but how do I know I've sanded enough with 1500 to move to 2000. What should I be looking for :think1: ?? I'm new at this and trying to get all my ducks in a row before I attempt anything so bear with me.

T

TAZ

Well, good question...you really don't know. You just basically have to guess. Just pay attention when you are sanding and be sure and go over the complete area with the finer sandpaper.
I can tell you that it shouldn't take as much as the previous paper. I would say the 1000 should be done the most, then go over with the 1500 and the 2000 both about the same, but less than you did with the 1000 grit.

gtc73

Just another rookies thoughts;
You might consider keeping a simple note sheet with your piece to keep track of which grit you are using or finished with last. Also not sure but the finer the grit, the smoother the surface will be? seems to me for example 800 grit leaves a much more course series of scratches. As you move up in grit, that surface will look/feel smoother and smoother. I imagine at some point specialy when you get to say 1500 or 2000 it may be impossible to tell. So even more important to keep a note pad handy?
I'm about to embark on the same journey on my cleared tins so lets see how this all works out!
good luck!

hoss

and remember, the more work you put into w/ the 1500 or 2000 grit the easier the buffing will be.

i wonder where the word color sanding comes from??? i'd call it flat sanding or finish sanding or mirror sanding.... why color sanding it doesn't change the color does it?

gtc73

10-4 hoss!