buffing sequence?

Mulepick

I'm pretty new to buffing. I would like to hear what pads, compounds, glazes, polishes, equipment, and procedure people use after, say, you've color sanded down to 1500 grit.

Tks,

Bob

hoss

after sanding w/ 1500 sand it again w/ 2000 grit. why? b/c it's easier and faster to sand than to buff.

I use wizard products. it is the only thing i'll use, because it is the only thing i've used that doesn't scare me. If i've just spent hours painting. i don't want to burn through b/c my compound is a pain in the a$$. if your paint is older and cured for a very long time you would want to start w/ some turbo cut compound and the more abrasive pad. there is also a black pad that i use w/ my finishing glaze. super smooth

www.wizardproducts.com

get a velcro pad for your buffer. 3m has them as well as wizard.

if your paint is fresh. just cleared the day before or so. get the yellow foam pad and finish cut compound. then get some master shine for the final hand glaze. that's all you need. you really don't even need the master shine.

why i like this compound. i can get a first cl*** paint job and use the lowest speed setting on my buffer, and it takes minimal rubbing to get the finish.

T

TAZ

We use 5725 and 5723 velcro pads from 3M.
We also use 6060 (medium coarse), 5936 (course), and 5669 (foam glaze)

We also wetsand with 2000 grit first.

:cheers:

Mulepick

Well, after finally getting a few good coats of clear down, I've finished the color sanding and have started buffing.

I got some wizard stuff and started with the hard maroon pad. I left this quickly for the yellow foam pad as the maroon seemed to tough. I can get pretty good results with the yellow pad then a polishing compound with a softer sponge on my DA.