Advice on an inexpensive air brush set

S

scott6scooter

Looking for n inexpensive starter set to be used occasionally, that will give me satisfactory results. Working on very limited budget. Will be pushing it with 6HP with 30 Gal. tank. I understand I need to limit output to about 20 psi? Thanks in advance. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/shrug.gif

flamethrower

I have two. One is a piece of junk Chicago Pneumatic air brush I bought on ebay for $6. It works great for shooting primers or base coats or adhereto, etc. For artsy stuff I use a Badger. I think I paid about $60 for it. Believe it or not the little CP brush works just about as good. I'm no artist, but for outlining flames and stuff it works great. Now, I have to admit that airbrushing is like alot of things... You get what you pay for. If you want great results all the time, spend the money and get an Iwata or some other higher quality brush.Especially if you are an artist and will be doing more than just edging and stuff. I am going to buy an Iwata HP-C very soon so I can try my hand at other art on tanks and fenders. Good luck.

FT

S

scott6scooter

Thanks Flamethrower, I just today saw the CP Brush set @ Harbor Freight and wondered for $20.00 what kind of quality it would produce. Any advice on where to get a good deal on an Iwata? and what should I expect to pay for a starter set? Thanks again /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/peace.gif

flamethrower

About the best prices are at www.airbrush-depot.com

I would get either an HP-C model ($169) or an Eclipse-CS ($126). These prices are for just the airbrush itself. They do sell complete kits, but if you already have an air source I would save the money. Also, you could go to www.google.com and search for Iwata airbrushes to see what else comes up. But I doubt you'll beat depot's prices.

/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cheers.gif
FT

T

tcannon