Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: just curious

Default just curious

how did most of you guys get your starts in this business.

did you go to school?
    just do some projects on the side and it built from there?
    started painting w/ another professional?

just curious, i was just wondering how far fetched it would be for me to start a little side business?

Top Flite Painter Jim's Avatar Jim is a Level 2 Supporter!

Default Re: just curious

Hey hoss,since none of the pros answered yet...I've only been doin this for three years but,I started doing side jobs last yr and things are getting better every day.It's not far fetched at all. Just do a good job and word will get out.To this day,I haven't seen anyone paint yet,before I got on this board,I never picked up a paint gun.

alienboy

I started painting by working on model cars.....I was using dupont paints to paint these tiny cars. One day I decided to tackle my friends motorcycle.
    After that I found this group and have loved painting ever since.

I was starting to wonder if anyone was going to be friendly.

I was starting to get a little ****y, a 330 lb ****y guy isn't pleasent. kidding!

I live in a very small town, and started doing this on the side (when i'm not coaching or teaching music). I really enjoy it, but was kinda thinking about the market for it in this area. I'll just keep doing it for enjoyment and see how it builds from there.

thanks for your replies.

Painter Apprentice

I started out doing it on the side and still am. I have been doing the art work for a long time and someone else would do the painting and clearing. I found it hard to keep someone to do the painting so I decided to start doing it all myself last year. I have learned alot from the guys here and am very thankful. I am hopeing to be good enough by the time I retire (I'm 59) to have a good name for myself and keep on going. I think if you do a good job and treat people fairly the word will get around, just don't rush it.